4.-Members of the Nineteenth Ministry, as at Apr. 30, 19641

(According to precedence of Ministers)

Note.—A complete list of the members of Federal Ministries from Confederation to 1913 appears in the 1912 Year Book, pp. 422-429. Later Ministries will be found in subsequent editions.

Office	Occupant	Date of Appointment		
Prime Minister Secretary of State for External Affairs Minister of Transport Minister of National Defence Minister of Finance and Receiver General Minister of Trade and Commerce. President of the Queen's Privy Council for Canada Minister of Mines and Technical Surveys Minister of Northern Affairs and National Resources Secretary of State of Canada Associate Minister of National Defence Minister of Labour Minister of Labour Minister of Public Works Solicitor General Minister of Fisheries Solicitor General Minister of National Health and Welfare Minister of Industry and Minister of Defence Production Minister of Justice and Attorney General Postmaster General Minister of Agriculture Minister of Agriculture Minister without Portfolio Minister of Forestry Minister without Portfolio	Rt. Hon. Lester Bowles Pearson. Hon. Paul Joseph James Martin. Hon. John Whitney Pickersgill. Hon. Paul Theodore Hellyer. Hon. Walter Lockhart Gordon. Hon. Mitchell Sharp. Hon. George James McLlraith Hon. William Moore Benidickson. Hon. Arthur Laing. Hon. Auther Lamontagne. Hon. Lucien Cardin. Hon. Lucien Cardin. Hon. Jean-Paul Deschatelets. Hon. Hédard Robichaud. Hon. Hédard Robichaud. Hon. Judy V. Lamarsh. Hon. Roger Teillet Hon. Guy Favreau. Hon. John Robert Nicholson. Hon. John Robert Nicholson. Hon. Harry Hays. Hon. Remé Tremblay. Hon. Rome Tremblay. Hon. Mathice Sauvé. Hon. Mathice Sauvé. Hon. Mathice Sauvé.	Apr. Apr. Apr. Apr. Apr. Apr. Apr. Apr.	22, 1 22, 1 3, 1 3, 1	1963 1963 1963 1963 1963 1963 1963 1963

¹ Any changes occurring between Apr. 30, 1964 and the date of going to press will be carried in an Appendix to this volume.

Parliamentary Secretaries.—The Parliamentary Secretaries Act (SC 1959, c. 15), assented to June 4, 1959, provides for the appointment of 16 Parliamentary Secretaries from among the Members of the House of Commons to assist the respective Ministers in such manner as each Minister may direct. The Government thus revived the system of parliamentary assistantships in practice during the World War II and postwar years subsequent to 1943, whereby Cabinet Ministers might receive assistance in the performance of their parliamentary functions and promising Members of the House might secure a degree of apprenticeship for higher public office. Parliamentary Secretaries hold office for 12 months.

At Apr. 30, 1964, the following Parliamentary Secretaries were in office:-

Jack Davis.
Prime Minister
GUY ROULEAU
JEAN-CHARLES CANTIN Transport
EDGAR J. BENSON
JOHN N. TURNER
James A. Byrne Labour
G. ROY McWilliam Public Works CHESLEY W. CARTER Veterans Affairs
JOHN C. MUNRO
DONALD S. MACDONALD Justice ALEXIS CARON. Postmaster General
Bruce S. Beer. Agriculture Forestry
HUBERT BADANAI Citizenship and Immigration